October 22, 2024

The Cedar County Commissioners met in the Boardroom of the Cedar County Courthouse at 8:30 AM and the meeting was called to order as advertised, with David McGregor, Dick Donner and Craig Bartels answering roll call. Also present, County Clerk Jessica Schmit. Chairman McGregor stated the open meetings laws are posted on the wall for public inspection.

Motion was made by Bartels and seconded by McGregor to approve the agenda. Motion carried with a 3 to 0 vote. Minutes from the October 8, 2024 meeting were reviewed and a motion was made by McGregor and seconded by Bartels to approve the minutes as presented. Motion carried with a 3 to 0 vote.

County Assessor Becky Dresden presented omitted personal property tax for parcel numbers 7666 and 7580. Motion was made by Donner and seconded by McGregor to approve the omitted statement for parcel 7666. Motion carried with a 3 to 0 vote. Motion to approve omitted statement for parcel 7580 was made by McGregor and seconded by Bartels for parcel. Motion carried with a 3 to 0 vote.

Zoning Administrator Tim Gobel presented the following building permits: Allen Kleinschmit 60x80 pole barn and John Pinkelman covered porch and deck.

Highway Superintendent, Carla Schmidt, presented the signing resolution for year-end certification for highway superintendents. Motion by McGregor to approve the Resolution 24-9 was seconded by Donner. Motion carried with a 3 to 0 vote. Schmidt will forward this resolution to the state to be eligible for reimbursement due to her certification.

Monthly fee reports were reviewed and approved by the board.

Emergency Manager, Kevin Garvin attended for discussion on the possibility of entering an interlocal agreement with Knox County for emergency management services. In attendance from Knox County was their current zoning administrator/EM Kelsy Jelinek and Board Chairman Jim Sokol. Garvin presented information on requirements for training to be certified from NEMA and FEMA to be eligible for funding from the state. Knox county wants to hire an assistant that would be available to both counties and they are then wanting Kevin's experience to help train. McGregor posed the question as to whether or not Kevin would be paid extra for training their new hire. Garvin stated that he discussed the proposal with the state agency and they thought if we play by the FEMA handbook an assistant would not be needed for both counties. Garvin stated that is not how rural Nebraska works and he spends a lot of time going to local people in villages, etc. because those people wear multiple hats and are unable to come to him. When Knox County learned that they would not be eligible for state funding if they did not have an EM director, their board chairman, Sokol, stated that may change this conversation and he would have to discuss further with the board. Garvin proposed hiring an individual whose time is split between both counties which would allow Knox County to still be eligible for the state funding if they are able to get a director hired and he could help train both of those individuals at the same time. Commissioner Donner asked if we need the state funding but Garvin stated the requirements to receive that funding don't add much to his plate but we could probably do without it. This year the funding is \$42,000. Our board will wait to hear the results of further discussion amongst the Knox County Supervisors.

Garvin then presented the board with four proposals for the mass notification system. He asked the commissioners to look over the proposals and by the next meeting he would like to have questions answered so it can be on the agenda and take action on it. Brief discussion was held on surrounding political subdivisions that use the various systems and Kevin's opinion of them. The City of Laurel went ahead and signed their own contract so they cannot be enveloped under ours. The commissioners will review and get in touch with Kevin with any questions.

With no further business or agenda items the meeting was declared adjourned.

ATTEST:

APPROVED:

David McGregor, Board Chairman

ST: _____ Jessica Schmit, County Clerk